Case Study – Sweep

The BSR is facing the challenges of an ever-changing work environment and approached hint with the purpose of implementing autonomous technology in street cleaning. The result is Sweep: a collaborative cleaning robot that unburdens the employees and speeds up work processes.

Objective

Improvement of the work through autonomous technology.

Optimization of the BSR's management of urban hot spots.

Increasing the capability and efficiency of manual cleaning.

Analysis

Urban hot spots are one of the most complex challenges for city cleaning. To solve these, we not only considered the management of Alexanderplatz but also analyzed the equipment currently used. It had not been engineered user-centric, nor had it been modified for the changing demands. The consequence: many repetitive actions. We rethought this outdated working method.

With Sweep, hint combines the experience and grasp of a human with the efficiency of a machine.

Conception

The core principle of Sweep aligns with hint's rationale: the human in focus. The targeted use of autonomous technology is supposed to enhance the job of manual sweepers, while also facilitating their work. The manual cleaner and Sweep work as a team. Sweep follows the path the employee walked and cleans it automatically.

The future of street cleaning: Sweep.

Interaction

The traditional relationship between operator and machine has been eliminated. The absence of control elements presented new challenges on communications and feedback mechanisms, which hint met intuitively.

Control & Navigation

Prototyping

The follow-me setup required rethinking the control operations, interactions, and communication elements. Therefore, the entire interaction was organized directly on the physical object. Visual programming allowed hint to receive immediate feedback about all of Sweep's functions. This way, timing, and animation could be navigated actively and moving patterns could be created particularly naturally.

Customer

BSR

Services

Concept, product design, interaction design, prototyping

Year / Duration

2017 - 2018
12 months

Previous

Next

Case Study – Sweep

Die BSR steht vor den Herausforderungen einer sich verändernden Arbeitswelt und wandte sich mit der Aufgabe, autonome Technologie in der Straßenreinigung zu implementieren, an hint. Das Ergebnis ist Sweep: ein kollaborativer Reinigungsroboter, der die Mitarbeiter entlastet und Arbeitsprozesse beschleunigt.

Zielsetzung

Verbesserung der Arbeitssituation durch autonome Technologie.

Optimierung der Bewirtschaftung  urbaner Hotspots durch die BSR.

Steigerung der Einsatzfähigkeit und Effizienz der Handreiniger.

Analyse

Urbane Hotspots sind eine der komplexesten Herausforderungen für Stadtreinigungen. Um diese zu lösen, analysierten wir nicht nur die Bewirtschaftung des Alexanderplatzes selbst, sondern auch das aktuelle Equipment. Dieses wurde weder nutzerzentriert entwickelt, noch den veränderten Anforderungen angepasst. Die Folge: viele repetitive Abläufe. Wir haben diese veraltete Arbeitsform neu gedacht.

Mit Sweep kombiniert hint die Erfahrung und Auffassungsgabe eines Menschen mit der Effizienz einer Maschine.

Konzeption

Das Grundprinzip von Sweep ist das Grundprinzip von hint: der Mensch im Fokus. Durch den gezielten Einsatz autonomer Technologie soll der Arbeitsplatz der Handreiniger aufgewertet und zugleich ihre Arbeit erleichtert werden. Der Handreiniger und Sweep arbeiten im Team. Sweep folgt dem Mitarbeiter auf seinem gelaufenen Pfad und reinigt diesen automatisch.

Die Zukunft der Straßenreinigung: Sweep.

Interaktion

Das klassische Verhältnis von Operator und Maschine wurde mit Sweep aufgelöst. Die Abwesenheit von Bedienelementen, stellte neue Anforderungen an Kommunikations- und Feedbackmechanismen, die von hint intuitiv gelöst wurden.

Steuerung & Navigation

Prototyping

Das Follow-Me-Setup erforderte Bedienung, Interaktion und Kommunikation neu zu denken. Die gesamte Interaktion wurde daher direkt am physischen Objekt gestaltet. Durch visuelles Programmieren erhielt hint unmittelbares Feedback über sämtliche Sweep-Funktionen. So konnten Timing und Animation aktiv gesteuert und besonders natürliche Bewegungsmuster erstellt werden.

Kunde

BSR

Leistungen

Konzeption,
Produkt-Design,
Interaction-Design,
Prototyping

Jahr / Dauer

2017 - 2018
12 Monate

Vorheriges

Nächstes